• AfricaBrief
  • Posts
  • Davie Nkhonjera: The Mzuzu-based MC making waves in the industry with his natural talent and passion

Davie Nkhonjera: The Mzuzu-based MC making waves in the industry with his natural talent and passion

"I firmly believe that God is the key to success. As a devout believer in Jesus Christ, I believe that He came and died for my sins."

We speak to Davie Nkhonjera, a Mzuzu-based MC, who discovered his passion for public speaking in college, where he served as the director of a mock wedding organized by a religious organization and as the president of the student union body.

Briefly explain more about your company. When did it come into existence?

Being an MC is something that comes naturally to me. I first discovered my passion for public speaking in college, when a religious organization organized a mock wedding to raise money for a good cause, and I was chosen to be the director of the ceremony. I also served as the president of the student union body, which helped me further hone my public speaking skills.

In 2019, a friend approached me to be the MC for their wedding, and although it was a new audience, I decided to take on the challenge.

The feedback from the event was overwhelmingly positive, and from that day on, I started getting booked for more events. In 2022, I decided to take my talent to the next level, and since then, I've received great feedback, and I intend to keep it that way in the future.

What do you love about your business?

I truly enjoy bringing joy to people's faces, and as an MC, it's easy to tell when an audience is enjoying themselves. Seeing the smiles and wrinkles disappear is incredibly fulfilling.

Additionally, receiving positive feedback from my clients is very satisfying. For me, being an MC is more of a hobby than a means of survival. Although I need the money, it's not worth it if I don't deliver a good performance. I always put in my best effort to ensure my clients are happy.

Who inspires you in this business?

I draw inspiration from individuals who have become experts in leading ceremonies, such as Chisomo Mwamadi, George Adams, Chris Loka, Gomegzani Nyasulu, and many others whom I hold in high regard but did not mention.

What are the three tools you couldn't do your business without?

A wristwatch (since time is crucial), a high-quality microphone (for well-balanced sound), and an engaged audience are essential.

What is your secret to the success of your business?

I firmly believe that God is the key to success. As a devout believer in Jesus Christ, I believe that He came and died for my sins. I consider this to be a precious gift that not everyone possesses. Being an MC comes naturally to me and I find myself effortlessly flowing in the role.

What is the moment that you are most proud of?

One day, I attended a birthday party for a business leader in the city of Mzuzu, who also happens to be my boss at work. Upon arrival, I was unexpectedly asked to host the event, and to my surprise, I was dressed appropriately for the role. I saw smiles on the faces of the audience, which made me feel good.

I was proud of myself for being able to perform incredibly well even when caught off guard. From this event, I was highly recommended to a client for whom I later hosted a wedding event, another business leader in the city of Mzuzu. I truly enjoy hosting events at all costs.

Is there anyone you would like to say thank you to?

I would like to start by thanking God for the gift of being able to host events. I am also grateful for my late mother, who worked tirelessly to raise me to be a noble gentleman and is the reason why people are smiling today.

My wife deserves a special mention as well.

I would also like to mention Mr and Mrs Abel Kaludzu who believed in me and gave me my first business opportunity in 2019.

They deserve special recognition. I could go on and on mentioning names such as Mr Kenneth Malema of Double M Motors, who has believed in me since then and has highly recommended me to esteemed clients.

What are your future plans?

I aspire to become the epitome of excellence in my side hustle as an MC. While I have a full-time job and significant responsibilities, being an MC is a side hustle that brings me joy. My goal is to become the talk of the town and to be able to dine with kings and queens in their pavilions.

To achieve this, I will put my best effort into every job I am given. In a world where many people aspire to become an MC, I want to surpass them all by delivering eloquent, simple, top-notch, and sensational services. My goal is to become a brand that people can relate to.

How can people find you?My contact information is as follows: Cell: 0996769446 Email: [email protected] Facebook: Davie Nkhonjera (search for me).