• AfricaBrief
  • Posts
  • Malawi cyclone victim seeks help for twin babies

Malawi cyclone victim seeks help for twin babies

Alinafe, a victim of cyclone Freddy seeking refuge at Lunzu camp in Blantyre, has called for support from well-wishers for her twin babies, writes Happy Valirani.

BLANTYRE, Malawi— Alinafe, a victim of cyclone Freddy seeking refuge at Lunzu camp in Blantyre, has called for support from well-wishers for her twin babies, writes Happy Valirani.

Lapukeni, the 18-year-old mother, said she is facing challenges at the camp as she is finding it difficult to feed her twins with proper food for them to grow well.

"My life here is very difficult with these children, I have nothing to feed them as you can see that they are just 10-month-old babies and they need nutritious food," Alinafe said in an interview with AfricaBrief.

"When it comes to sleep, I also find it difficult, I do not have enough blankets, I only have one blanket, which is not enough for a mother of two. My fear is that as we approach the winter season, my children will not have enough clothes to keep them warm."

Alinafe's husband left her while she was pregnant after learning she was expecting twins.

She has no one to support her and her babies, and her house collapsed during Cyclone Freddy, leaving her homeless.

"I am asking well-wishers who can come help me with food so that I can feed my babies, as they are only feeding on Mgaiwa porridge daily," Alinafe said.

"Apart from that, I do not have a house, my house collapsed due to cyclone Freddy, and that is why I am here. If anyone can come to build me a house, I can be a very happy person."

Cyclone Freddy occurred in March 2023, claiming hundreds of lives and leaving thousands homeless or injured in the southern districts of Malawi.

Alinafe comes from Baluwa village, Traditional Authority Kapeni in Blantyre.