• AfricaBrief
  • Posts
  • Malawi joins world in mourning educationist-cum-philanthropist Dr Chinchen

Malawi joins world in mourning educationist-cum-philanthropist Dr Chinchen

Chimwemwe Semphere Mizaya mourns: "Rev Dr Paul Chinchen😪😪😪😭😭😭 it hurts big time to note that you're gone. Your passion for the development of African leaders cannot go unnoticed."

May be an image of 1 person and outdoors

Malawi: Paul Chinchen, Chancellor of African Bible Colleges (ABC), died on Wednesday 6 July 2022 at his home in Jackson, Mississippi, USA.

Maggie Madimbo, Vice-Chancellor of ABC, stated that Dr Chinchen died shortly after returning from a mission trip to Malawi, where he was presenting degrees to ABC graduates at a ceremony presided over by the President, who knew Paul during his many years in Malawi building and leading ABC.

According to Madimbo, Paul established the ABC Christian Academy, the ABC Clinic, and the African Business Institute.

AfricaBrief takes a look at random tributes paid to Dr Chinchen from social media.

Malawi leader Lazarus Chakwera had this to say:

May be an image of 1 person and text

Sam Dalitso Kawale said: "Lost a friend, mentor and coach yesterday, in a very shocking way. No words can describe what am feeling right now. The legend, Paul Chinchen, rests, till we meet in Glory."

May be an image of 3 people, people standing and suit

Chimwemwe Semphere Mizaya said: "Rev Dr Paul Chinchen😪😪😪😭😭😭 it hurts big time to note that you're gone. Your passion for the development of African leaders cannot go unnoticed."

May be an image of 5 people, people standing and text that says 'African Bible College Graduation 2015 Lilongwe, Malawi'

Sarah Nyaphiri Padoko had this say: 'It’s hard to digest the passing of the incomparable Dr. Paul Chinchen. His death is untimely, yet he is home with the One to whom he committed his life and work. His work has blessed many of us and will continue to bless generations yet unborn. Praying for his family and the whole ABC family. Hamba kahle."

Confex Makhalira wrote: "Rev. Dr. Paul Chinchen (1964-2022). President of African Bible Colleges, my professor of communication in Bible college, and fellow teaching elder in the PCA. May the Lord comfort the Chinchens. “Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his saints” (Psalm 116:15)"

Moses Njobvu had this say: "Death death at it again. Why do great and good people with vision go just like that? What a loss to the nation and the world at large. Rest well Dr. Paul Chinchen your Father's vision still lives on."

Joseph Matsiko wrote: "Paul Chinchen • Visionary | Changemaker. Dr. Chinchen's love for the Church and the students in Africa was evident. His legacy will live on 🌍"

Vincent Mbeule Ngosi said: "Those who know me you can attest to the fact that my life has been transformed for the better because of ABC. Paul Chinchen was very instrumental in mentoring me. I'm grateful, here below is our last conversation when he came to visit this was his farewell. He got me shoes."

May be an image of 7 people, people standing and indoor

Henry Joseph said: "Like everyone else that knew him I am numb. I have no need to tell you about his gospel exploits. His life and legacy says it all.

We met in 1999 and it changed the trajectory of my life. We had great plans for the future. He said something a few years ago I cherish to this day. "Henry you are a true brother". Coming from someone you greatly admire humbled and inspired me. We are broken Paul. Writing this post as I seat on this airplane is opening the door for the deep emotions that were being held captive by the shocking news. Our only solice is we will see you when we get there. Thank you Dr. Paul Chinchen for touching so many lives including mine in a profound way. Praying for you Chinchen Tribe. See you when I get there brother. Love you."

May be an image of 3 people and people standing

Moses H Kuthyola wrote: "Words can’t express how grateful I am for these two men who’ve gone to be with the Lord. Gret Glyer (far right) who was the Epaphroditus of our time, with a commitment to minister to people’s needs in Malawi and around the world. The man I know would’ve gone to ends of the earth just to collect support for those in need and help missionaries fulfill their calling around the world. And Dr. Paul Chinchen (next to me), who was like a father to me and I’m sure to many other young men in Malawi. It was the vision of the founders of African Bible College to see their students equipped for ministry in any vocation they are called to and thriving anywhere around the globe. Dr Paul Chinchen made us live that vision. I still can’t wrap my head around the loss of such a great visionary leader.

The last two weeks I’ve constantly been reminded of how brief our time is on this side of eternity and the sense of urgency we ought to have in “doing something” for the church and for the kingdom.

May your souls Rest In Peace."

Yamikani Chikoti wrote: "You have touched lives Dr. Paul Chinchen, my family will miss you greatly. I am failing to process your departure. Did you just come to say good byee? Your last words to me sting so hard "Yamikani I am so proud of your family. I am so proud of Shadreck, it is so heartwarming to see what is going on in his life and all his achievements. We mourn you together with your beautiful family."

‘Very heartbroken. I saw him last month at ABC during a gala. He looked quite OK. He spoke without frailty. Energetic. He was jovial. I was just 6 metres away from him. I looked him closely in the face. He was ever smiling as he sat elbow to elbow with the President. Now he's gone. Gone with his dreams of elevating Malawi academically. And I'm terribly upset. Of course, the dreamer is gone. But the dream lives on”-eulogy from Foster Benjamin.

Dr. Paul Chinchen is survived by his wife Laura, their children Ashley, Cozz, Annabelle, Levi, Bess, and Vanndel, and their grandchild Verona.