• AfricaBrief
  • Posts
  • Meet 23-year-old female professional guide from Zimbabwe

Meet 23-year-old female professional guide from Zimbabwe

“Do not touch or kill animals: leave footprints only and nature will take its course"- Ennie Katupu

ZIMBABWE: Ennie Katupu is a 23-year-old professional guide in Kariba Urban, and she has dedicated her time and life to saving wildlife and wildlands along the Zambezi River, in Zimbabwe.

“When we talk of guiding, it's like studying the environment and nature, and it's also plugged to tourism. I move around with tourists, showing and teaching them about southern mammals, birds, animals, different species,” said Katupu.

“I know where different species are located and I teach tourists about these animals, their habits, and their ecology and social way of living, and survival.”

Katupu is among a few female guides who are brave enough to sleep under the stars in the darkest nights guiding wildlife against poachers.

Katupu has a never-ending love for animals and the environment.

“Being a child who was born in an animal-dominated area, I wanted to know more about animals and the surroundings; hence, I applied to Zimbabwe Parks and Wildlife Management Authority (ZIMPARKS). Even though I was the only girl during the 2019 intake, I could not back off".

Quizzed on what sort of challenges has she been faced so far in the field as a female guide Katupu said, “So far, there are no challenges. l can actually say I’m gaining more experience in the field because it's practical.”

She said she is willing to inform and educate Africans on how to conserve and co-exist with the animals and wildlands.

“I am not a media practitioner, but I would love to talk to people and make sure they have a good understanding of the environment and our precious wildlife. I am ready to provide information that can benefit societies on what I know,” she said.

But does she really feel people are doing good in line with co-existing with wildlands and wildlife?

“People are not willing to co-exist with animals because they don't have the knowledge and skills to deal with the animals. I feel like people are a threat to animals and our environment; therefore, there is a need to do continuously teach them. I would appreciate if publications on how to co-exist with animals and species will be done at least weekly.”

Katupu is sometimes hired by local tourism companies in Kariba to take tourists through the game drive.

She said she is confident about her work and wishes to see more young women taking the same way to dedicate time and energy towards conserving wildlands and wildlife.

Katupu said youths must take the lead and change their negative perceptions towards animals.

“To the youth of today, l want to let you know that everything is possible: you can do anything which can change your life and other people's lives. I am a young lady who has embarked on a journey and I will not quit until I die. My goal is to keep my environment on guard and make sure wildlife will not go extinct. Do your part and I will do mine!”

“Do not touch or kill animals: leave footprints only and nature will take its course"- Ennie Katupu