• AfricaBrief
  • Posts
  • NGO donates houses to underprivileged in Malawi's Chikwawa district

NGO donates houses to underprivileged in Malawi's Chikwawa district

Underprivileged groups long for secure, decent housing due to often living in poor conditions-Moses Thole.

Malawi-Owning a decent house is a heartwarming thought for certain groups, such as the elderly, widowed, physically challenged, and less fortunate individuals, who often reside in dilapidated homes lacking adequate security. writes Moses Thole.

These people, especially the elderly, are sometimes falsely accused of practicing witchcraft and subjected to unfair treatment and contempt.

A local non-governmental organization, Pashello Charitable Trust in the Chikwawa district, donated decent homes, giving some underprivileged individuals in Senior Chief Ngabu's area a new lease on life.

One of the recipients of the houses is Malita Kamphakasa, a woman with visual impairment who lives in Kandiado Village.

Malita has admitted to AfricaBrief that she has been leading a miserable life as a result of her disability.

"In the past, I resided in a shelter with zero security. People would come and go as they pleased, robbing me of my meagre possessions. My disability made it difficult for me to defend myself,” said Kamphalasa.

"I am so grateful to Almighty God for changing the course of my life through the Pashello Charitable Trust. I am so grateful to Almighty God for changing the course of my life through the Pashello Charitable Trust.”

John Sifa, a senior citizen from Chinamulungu Village who also has mobility issues, could not contain his excitement. Sifa, who was born paralyzed, could not emphasize enough how important a proper home is to him.

"The villagers used to feel sorry for me. 2019 saw burglars break into my home and steal everything I owned. I had no hope after this. In addition, my home was destroyed by Cyclone Gombe in 2022, forcing me to relocate to the Makande Resource Center camp for refugees. At the camp, there was a stigma. But I thank Pashello for this admirable gift," Sifa said, beaming with pleasure.

Joyce Khaida, another recipient, also expressed her gratitude for receiving a new home, saying that "my husband passed away in 2014 and floods damaged my house in 2015."

When the Pashello Charitable Trust's Executive Director, Madam Fellia Malora, called to share some exciting information, I was taken aback. That was unbelievable, but now I and my kids are safe.

The three are among 15 beneficiaries in the Pashello Charitable Trust's house construction project, which is being funded by well-wishers in Malawi and abroad.

Since the project's start in 2011, according to the organization's executive director, Felia Malora, 15 homes have already been built.

"This is a continuous project, and we are pleased to have changed the lives of different groups of people in Ngabu community. We hope to finish some unfinished houses at least by the end of March this year," Malola said.

Senior Group Village Head Misongwe of the region praised Pashello for its efforts to improve the lives of those who are less fortunate and pledged to cooperate in order to produce even better outcomes.

"I am so excited to have heard that many groups of people who lived hopelessly have got good houses. As far as the welfare of some particular groups of people in the community is concerned, I will collaborate closely with the NGO,” he said.

Pashello Charitable Trust is doing a great job, according to Khofat Malunga, the chairperson of the Chikwawa district council, and it is helping in many other areas as well, including a school feeding programme, helping people with albinism, and helping the elderly.

Even though the project has produced observable results, it still faces financial difficulties, and Malora is urging people and organisations to work together with the organisation to achieve great success.

Malora also hopes that the housing project will benefit at least 60 of the less fortunate in the Chikwawa and Nsanje districts by the year 2025.

This story was made possible with the support of Google News Initiative's News Equity Fund. #GNIChallenge